Monday, September 30, 2013

Press Release: The Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2013

Kennedy Kiproo Lilan emerged as the champion at this year’s Standard Chartered KL Marathon


Kuala Lumpur, 29 September 2013 – The Standard Chartered KL Marathon crowned this year’s champions Kennedy Kiproo Lilan of Kenya and Rose Chekurui Kosgei from Kenya, who won the Men’s and Women’s Full Marathon with respective times of 02:19:01 and 02:41:05.

Rose Chekurui Kosgei coming up top in the Women’s Full Marathon Open Category

The Men’s Full Marathon first runner-up medal with a time of 02:19:35 went to Chelimo Luka Kipkemoi of Kenya just ahead of Kosgei Robert Kilagat from Kenya (02:19:50). Viola Chepleting Bor from Kenya was the second to cross the line in the Women’s Full Marathon with a time of 02:41:26, while Rose Kerubo Nyangacha from Kenya finished third (02:42:31).

Malaysian Full Marathoners were not far behind with Fabian @ Osmond Bin Daimor earning the Full Marathon Malaysian Men’s Title and Yuan Yu Fang taking the Malaysian Women’s category with a time of 02:41:55 and 03:37:16 respectively.

Fabian @ Osmond Bin Daimor clinched the title of full Marathon Malaysian Men’s Winner this year

As the prize package offered for Standard Chartered KL Marathon remains the highest amongst all marathons in Malaysia, this year’s marathon prize package was increased to a total of USD112, 000.

Some 33,000 runners took off from the starting lines in Dataran Merdeka and Jalan Parlimen throughout race day, solidifying the Standard Chartered KL Marathon’s position as the largest marathon event in Malaysia. Y. Bhg. Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Hj. Talib, Datuk Bandar Kuala Lumpur started off Race Day with a blast by firing the first gun to signal the start of the Full Marathon category.

Other dignitaries present at the marathon were Y.B Tuan Khairy Jamaluddin, Minister of Youth and Sports, Malaysia, YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Mohd. Sheriff Mohd. Kassim, Chairman of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia; Osman Morad, Managing Director & CEO of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, Y.Bhg. Dato Zainal Abidin bin Haji Ahmad president of the Malaysian Athletic Federation (MAF) and Chua Seck Guan, CEO of MSIG Insurance.

Osman Morad, Managing Director & CEO of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia said, “We are proud to be the title sponsor of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon for the fifth year. Seeing an increase of more than 17 percent runners gather together to ‘run for a reason’ this year inspires us all to do better and greater things. I’m so pleased to see the Standard Chartered KL Marathon’s tremendous growth this year, and we hope the runners and spectators alike spread the ‘marathon spirit’ throughout Malaysia and the world.”

Rainer Biemans, Project Director, Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2013 said, “The success of today’s event truly cements the Standard Chartered KL Marathon as one of Malaysia’s premiere sporting events. On behalf of the organisers, I’d like to thank everyone for their dedicated support and commitment that went into making this day a great success. I would also like to extend congratulations to all of the 33,000 local and foreign runners that ran for a reason today!”

S. Vegiyathuman, General Secretary of the Federal Territory Amateur Athletic Association said, “In the five years that The Standard Chartered KL Marathon has been here, so much growth has taken place and the community is now closer than ever before, thanks to this iconic running event, positive terms of participation and event organisation. But what is interesting to see is how the running feedback from the running community demonstrates the significance of the Standard Chartered KL marathon to them, with some even stating that the highlight of the marathon is to see the city of Kuala Lumpur with the company of family and friends. We hope and wish for the Standard Chartered KL Marathon to continue growing, and we are proud with the success gained thus far.”

Yuan Yu Fang, the winner of the Marathon Malaysia Women category is flanked by Loh Chooi Fern, the first-runner up on her left and Choong Swee Ying, second-runner up on her right

Berbard Mwendia Muthoni, Kenya took home the men’s Honda Half Marathon title, clocking 01:07:26 while Ann Mukuhi Njihia, Kenya won the women’s category of the half marathon at 01:17:04.

The only relay race in the Standard Chartered KL Marathon, the MSIG Ekiden category saw the winner, Ekiden – New Balance take home the first prize for being the fastest to team to complete the 21km distance.

Ahmad Luth Bin Hamizan took home the winning title of the 10km Speed Category at 00:32:21 while Yuan Yu Fang won the female 10km Speed Category with the time of 00:42:39.04.

The Ministries Challenge category saw Jabatan Imigresen Malaysia emerge as the winner with a time of 03:28:06. Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) came in a close second with the time of 03:30:12 and the Economic Planning Unit came in third with a timing of 03:31:31.

In the Corporate Challenge category, in which organisations in Malaysia ran for charity, Telekom Malaysia Berhad took the winning title with a speed of 02:34:14, followed by PETRONAS Chemicals Group Sdn at 03:18:08 and GENTING MALAYSIA BERHAD at 03:24:25.
The Universities Challenge category saw more than 10 universities put on their running gear in friendly competition. The winners, Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman KL were the fastest in reaching the finishing line, demonstrating their strong ability to work together as a team to achieve their goals.

[L-R] Kennedy Kiproo Lilan, Champion of Men Full Marathon this year, Kosgei Robert Kilagat, 2nd Runner Up of the Marathon, Rainer Biemans, Project Director, Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2013, with the top three winners from the Malaysian Men Full Marathon.

In addition to the title sponsor, Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, Gold sponsors include MSIG and Honda. Official partners are Seiko, MYLAPS, New Balance, NTV7, 100 Plus and Li TV. The event is co-organised by Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia. The Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2013 is sanctioned and supported by the relevant international and local sporting authorities- Malaysia Athletics Federation (MAF), Federal Territory Amateur Athletic Association (FTAAA), International Amateur Athletic Federation (IAAF), Association of International Marathons, Distance Races (AIMS), and National Fitness Council (NFC).

0 Comment Wit Me:

Related Posts with Thumbnails